inception/butterfly

Saw Inception tonight.

From ten years ago, I loved this quote:

“Once upon a time, I dreamnt I was a butterfly, fluttering hither and
thither, to all intents and purposes a butterfly. I was conscious only
of following my fancies as a butterfly, and was unconscious of my
individuality as a man. Suddenly I awoke, and there I lay, myself
again… Now I do not know whether I was then a man dreaming I was a butterfly, or whether I am now a butterfly, dreaming that I am a man.

–Zhuangzi

1 Response to “inception/butterfly”


  1. 1 andrew August 6, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    That’s an awesome Chinese myth. There are actually quite a few ones like that. There’s also some really cool ones about meeting ghosts by the side of the road and convincing them you’re a ghost so they don’t kill you too, that are peculiarly, in their use of perspective and manipulation, Chinese.


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


