outta here

Ok, protesters are looting and setting buildings on fire. still not in my area, but getting dangerously close.

I am packing my things, getting ready to leave for the countryside outside Bangkok which is still peaceful. I might not have to leave if things take a turn for the better, but the way things are now, I’ll leave Bangkok tomorrow or the day after. I hope this will be only temporary and I can come back to Bangkok soon, hopefully later this week.

But I am taking my passport and my important things, in case things REALLY take a turn for the worse and I have to leave Thailand. I hope I am being overly alarmist about this, and it doesn’t become true.

I don’t want this to be the last time I see my beloved Bangkok, which has been my home for so long.

But I don’t want to have to flee by climbing over the back fence as the red shirts move into my neighborhood, as some people I know have had to do. If they seem to be spreading up over here, I want to be ready to go.

5 Responses to “outta here”


  1. 1 jess May 17, 2010 at 1:32 am

    honestly, i’m glad to hear it, it’s exactly what i would do in your shoes. just the fact that you CAN flee is pretty fantastic when you think about it. and even if the worst happens and you have to leave for longer than you’d like, you can always go back.

    i hope things calm down quickly and you’re able to return to life as usual.

    • 2 Rea May 17, 2010 at 2:38 am

      Fascinating to hear something other than the news reports about the atmosphere in the city. Thanks.

      notsospanish.wordpress.com

  2. 3 Allison May 17, 2010 at 3:47 am

    I’m glad to hear it and the sooner the better. In these types of situations, things often change really fast.

  3. 4 Angie May 17, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Good idea… I hope you don’t have to leave either, but glad you’re getting out of the line of fire. Ack! Sending safe thoughts your way.

  4. 5 julielavoie May 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    thanks guys! packing now, leaving tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


