when the revolution comes

…what was i doing?

I was eating lunch at Greyhound, some sleezy Thai guys with immaculate shirts, one of them had a wine stain birthmark like Gorbatchev under his eye, were macking up some Eastern European models. The models smiled and smiled, I ate my pasta with pesto sauce, the tender eggplant, as the soldier advanced in long lines, scared as shit, the young soldiers, against peasants holding molotov cocktails. setting buses on fire.

It spread like a disease. First it was 6 stations away, then 5, then 4, now 3.

The model were thin like skeletons under their fashionable dresses, they drank cappucinos with little jars of brown sugar, stirring carefully.

Today, I tutored trigonometry, then I watched a boyband/girlband competition at the mall, one of the last malls left open. The girls danced and danced, so thin they looked like their agent recruited them at a concentration camp, why u wearing booty shorts when u got no booty? I signed up for a free t-shirt. I ate some sushi. When I took the bus, the bus refused to go to my street, as 3 stations down the terrorists seized the square and shit was on fire. I had to take a taxi, the driver talked politics, scaring me by taking both hands off the wheel to gesture excitedly. “trouble lives there”, he said, when I asked them if shit was going down at Victory Monument, now a monument to the defeat of all.

I bought some emergency water, i bought some vodka.

Now i’m mixing and drinking. wtf do you do on a night like this, if you’re not fleeing to the airport at 3am?

“history has to be truly disastrous to impinge on your own personal narrative”

6 Responses to “when the revolution comes”


  1. 1 Allison May 16, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Figure that if there’s fleeing still to be done, that maybe now is a good time?

  2. 2 julielavoie May 16, 2010 at 1:00 am

    yeah, kind of thinking about it. 😦

  3. 3 Angie May 16, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Um, flee? Flee!! Get your butt out of there, J!! Everyone who can is.

  4. 4 Luckytroll May 16, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    As cool as it would be to read more missives from 3 stops from the bottom of the great blender, it is sounding like its getting too dangerous. Unless you are trying to make a career as a war reporter and have some articles to write on this, Id be running. But then again, I am the running kind.

    Is BKK so big that it can absorb this and protect the foreigners in its midst like a matrix of cosmopolitanism? Or is there a risk that if things flip, the anger will be expressed towards the aliens available?

  5. 5 julielavoie May 17, 2010 at 12:24 am

    hey guys, thanks for your comments! yeah, i’m leaving. i’m going to the countryside to see if things calm down. if they don’t i might have to leave thailand alltogether. for now the countryside is safe and peaceful.

    packing my stuff! thanks for thinking and worrying about me!

  6. 6 GEG June 19, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    Hey, what a powerful post, it kind of gave me shivers! I’m just reading back through your archives now and am glad to hear you’re OK. I’m looking forward to reading more from you!!


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


