24 hours in my life in 24 pictures

Lately, all my days start by being woken up by these dudes, who are de-constructing a nearby row of Chinese shophouses, one sledgehammer blow at a time. It’s an incredibly long and noisy process.

00017

In the morning, I make coffee and then read my book while drinking coffee in the sun.

waking up

Then I take a swim in the sun to warm up my muscles. Since I have a muscle illness, if I don’t warm up my muscles, I have a lot of pain. Swimming helps a lot.

00029

Next I go down into the street to buy my breakfast. In the morning, the light is very beautiful in the lobby of this building:

00037

In my area, there are not many good breakfast foods, so I have to buy lunchtime foods. Today, I eat chicken rice. These guys make the most delicious chicken rice (kao mun gai) of all Bangkok! (The second best is the chicken rice at Greyhound, but it’s a lot more expensive = 160B vs. this one is 30B)

00045

I bring back my breakfast and set it out on proper plates. Even if you eat cheap meals, it’s good to make everything look nice.

00047

Doing some work on the computer:

00049

Now there’s a heat wave in Bangkok, it feels like 45 degrees, so I hide in my room with the A/C on and drink ice green tea.

00053

I go to Soi Ari for lunch because they have the best food:

lunch, eating nachos at villa

I eat some nachos for lunch, kind of randomly, as I’m craving cheese:

here is my lunch

Walking home in the late afternoon sun. The light at 4-5 o’clock in South-East Asia is made of pure gold. These are the most beautiful hours of the day. I always try to go outside for a walk then, if I can.

late afternoon light

A flame-colored blossom falls on our Bangkok sidewalks:

wabi-sabi

I pass by some people doing aerobics at the local bank:

passing-by aerobics

I like the late-afternoon light falling on the beginnings of Bangkok’s everyday traffic jam at the intersection close to where I live:

late afternoon

Back home, I do some yoga in my room. I have to do yoga everyday or else I have a lot of muscle pain.

doing yoga

Soon dusk is falling on the city outside. From my window I can see big traffic jams every night:

dusk in the world outside

In my room it is light, outside the city lights and the night sky:

inside/outside

I go buy my dinner in nearby soi, called “Soi Katoey”. The chef here is a street-side genius, his food is amazing:

buying dinner in soi katoey

The man is a genius, but he also interprets “medium spicy” to mean “put in 15 chilis”. My shrimp salad is insane. Again, Bangkok heat-wave, it’s too hot to eat anything but salads:

eating dinner

After dinner, I make some music. I’m currently making a new mix, it’s going to be awesome! Here is my computer with Ableton Live on it:

making music

It is late and I am sleepy:

feeling sleepy

I put on my Hello Kitty Pyjamas and watch “Lost in Translation”:

getting ready for bed

Here is a blurry, Lost-in-Translation-style view from my window of the lights late night cars:

bright lights, big city

Time to sleep at least. My room in the dark:

bed time

Not all my days are like this. This was a kind of boring, lonely day where my hands were really painful so I didn’t do a lot of work, or go out to see people. Bangkok’s beauty remains constant, though, never ceasing to astonish me.

What is 24 hours in *your* life like?

4 Responses to “24 hours in my life in 24 pictures”


  1. 1 Claudio Sennhauser May 12, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Thanks so much for this glimpse into your life. An awesome idea, realized exquisitely well.

    I love the ice green tea glass. It is so cool, I bet the ice-cubes melt slower in it… πŸ˜‰

  2. 2 julielavoie May 13, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    hi Claude! Thank you so much for your kind comments. Really glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

    I’m planning a workshop on storytelling through photography, and this will probably be the first project for people to work on. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your comment on my glass, I got it at some weird Propaganda sale for like 30B, i snatched it up right away!


  1. 1 hello world! « Go East, Young Woman Trackback on May 25, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


