here is a mix for y’all

I’ve been learning how to use Ableton Live to put together DJ mixes. Here is a mix from me.

It starts with my favorite track in the entire world, Township Funk, by DJ Mujava, in its original version. I’ve heard about 30 remixes of this track by every famous DJ you can imagine, and to me, nothing matches the stark, haunting quality of the original. It ends with Anya Marina’s accoustic cover of T.I.’s Whatever You Like, which isn’t particularly an electro song, but I was so obsessed with this plaintive song about love and money that I had to include it. Love and money is quite apropos for Bangkok, where you can’t escape the constant golddigging even if you try. If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em, so here is a mix about love and money.

Share and enjoy!

(Ps. Special thanks to James Alexi (DJ James) for teaching me the basics of AL!)

Golddigger:
Download (13 MB):

Tracklist:
1. Township Funk, DJ Mujava
2. Hustler, Simian Mobile Disco
3. Untrust Us, Crystal Castles
4. Kiss, Kiss, Kiss, Clazziquai Project (Yasuka Nakata remix)
5. Audacity of Huge, Simian Mobile Disco (I love me some SMD)
6. Whatever You Like, Anya Marina (T.I. cover)

3 Responses to “here is a mix for y’all”


  1. 1 James December 24, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Thx, enjoyed this. Short but sweet (and i usually hate this type of hipster crap ;p).

  2. 2 julielavoie December 25, 2009 at 2:21 am

    haha, thanks James! I still remember “all your music is hipster music”

  3. 3 kim March 18, 2010 at 12:56 am

    hi julie

    are you a mathematician?

    and what kinda music is this?


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


