storms, floods and other small town life

One thing I really like about small town life is that everything is an event: stuff that you wouldn’t even bother to notice in a big city becomes super exciting!

Tonight there was a big storm in Nong Khai and after it was finished I went with an old guy from my building to look at the flooded streets. There’s about a foot of rain in some streets and it’s funny to see people drive through it.

As we walked past the restaurant, this Thai woman asked us where we were going:

Woman: Pai nai? (Where are you going?)
Me: We’re not going anywhere. We were bored in our rooms and we came to look at the flood.
Woman: Wow, ok.

Another aspect of small town life is everyone is always asking you to teach English somewhere. Why not? I thought, (see “small town life, nothing to do”) so today I “taught English” to a class of 7-9 year olds. I say “teaching” because it’s really more like herding a bunch of animals than any kind of learning anything.

So we played a game where I told them different actions in English and they had to do them (“jump, sit down, clap your hands, spin around”) and then different students took turns being the “boss” and telling everyone what to do. This went down well because it involved screaming and running around, which was what they were going to do anyways.

Then I tried to go for a bicycle ride in the country side, but I ran into a guy I know who bought me a gin and tonic. That one gin and tonic was so strong I had to walk my bike home, I was so drunk.

You’ll notice that today was a record because I talked to *two* foreign guys in one day and they were both *ok*. No sex tourist/sexpat topics were mentioned at any point. I enjoyed talking to them. Meeting one such person in one day sometimes happens, but is still rare enough to be noteworthy. But two? Holy shit.

1 Response to “storms, floods and other small town life”


  1. 1 Angie May 14, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Sounds like a neat experience that will fuel your future book. It’s great to read about! But geez, I bet you can’t WAIT to get back to Bankok…


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


