internet in the third world

I will never get any programming done, here in the fucking 3rd world.

the wireless at home doesn’t reach my apartment, only the 1st floor of the building, and i dont’ have a useful desk anyways. getting my own connection seems to involve being related to the director of TOT and sacrificing 7 goats and 10 million THB.

normally i go to the ONE cafe in town that has both wireless and air-con, and that’s enough to get the amount of work done that i need to do in a day

but their internet connection has been broken for a week, and lalala, they are not in a hurry to fix it. I even tried to fix it for them, but it’s a problem with the provider (dear Laika I will never complain about your laptop wankers ever again, you KNEW no wireless == no customers)

i’ve tried every other place in town, but either they have uncomfortable places to sit, or they are outside so my computer OVERHEATS, coz it’s FOURTY DEGREES IN THE SHADE

so now I’m sitting in an ok chair, with an ok connection, except my computer overheats unless i turn it in a certain direction which gives me monitor GLARE!

but whatever, fuck I’ll program for an hour with GLARE, I HAVE SHIT TO GET DONE.

(PS. it’s also impossible to work past 6pm, because MOSQUITOS.)

only to find that

THE RAILS DOMAIN HAS BEEN HIJACKED. I’m not even fucking joking. Half the doc I need is on that stupid site, which HAS BEEN HIJACKED. (or dns-fucked, or whatever you want to call it)

I GIVE UP! Fucking third world. No wonder everyone is poor here, it’s fucking impossible to get anything done even if you want to.

3 Responses to “internet in the third world”


  1. 1 zemetrus April 23, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    ZOMG! i think you just got pressed on your soft spot. but i totally understand it πŸ™‚ my net stops every time it rains, and goes to near zero every time school-kids get home. i don’t have the goats either to get personal connection and i don’t think it will be any better. one day i got fed up of uploading 2gb files with 5kbps and thought i’ll just buy hosting in BK and use it to link me with my hosting but a day of phone calls left me with the best offer of 1000 baht a month for 200mb space muahaha these guys didn’t realised the prehistoric era has ended.

    but maybe that’s the beauty of these ‘third’ worlds – they guide (more like force) you into other lifestyles where getting work done with deadlines is not the central point.

    anyway don’t want to piss in the fire, good luck with it!

  2. 2 justin April 29, 2009 at 12:11 am

    You need to get Offline docs πŸ™‚ look at the croc gem and http://www.railsbrain.com/ for offline Javascript enhanced Rails API docs

    Justin

  3. 3 justin April 29, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Oh http://www.railsapi.com/ is the latest and greatest πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


