dirty laundry

Today I washed the mosquito net from my room, which probably hadn’t been washed in centuries.

The machine machine is also something from another century. I’ve never used a washer like this before. You have to manually put in the water, fill the compartment, then set it to wash. Then you manually drain the water, and fill it up again. To spin the laundry, you have to put it in another centrifugal force, lettuce-spinner-like compartment, and then, finally, you get to hang it up. The whole procedure requires constant attention, and I really feel in some ancient kingdom when I do it.

There are gecko battles on my wall at night.

4 Responses to “dirty laundry”


  1. 1 Jody March 31, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Yeah, my grandmother had one of those when I was about 10. It was already completely obsolete and she had a front loader next to it. – I don’t remember why she still used it.

  2. 2 Peter McCurdy March 31, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I remember my grandmother used to have something similar out around the bay. It was slightly more automatic (you hooked it to the kitchen sink to get water into it, at least), but not really any less annoying, mostly due to being tiny. It then fell into disrepair / annoyance and served as somewhere to dump coats on for a decade or so, then was eventually carted away.

    It somehow charms me that this sort of thing is still kicking around somewhere. I can picture the Formica surfaces as we speak.

  3. 3 jan April 1, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    in the very early days of electricity people did not have power outlets. instead the washing machine (i believe the first electrical appliance ever) was “plugged” into the light bulb socket. Many people died with that technology. so in case it’s one of those, be careful 🙂

  4. 4 Angie April 2, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Yeesh… No wonder the net hadn’t been washed ever! What a chore!


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


