straight outta nong khai

I’m currently in exile from Bangkok in Nong Khai, kind of like Napoleon in Saint Helena.

Like a phantom limb, I keep thinking of events I want to go to, or music I want to play for people, or movies I want to go see at Siam Square, and then I tell myself it’s good to get a break from Bangkok. It will be even more awesome when I come back!

Nong Khai itself is pretty interesting. A well-kept secret about Thailand is that Issan is really more interesting than Bangkok, because Issan people have all kinds of their own weird shit going on, instead of being aspirational white people like most Bangkok people.

Today I went to a country fair party organized for visiting triathletes. Nong Khai has its own triathlon! There was Issan music, and men were wearing sarongs (see, Bangkok people would never wear sarongs) and then a drunk Japanese athlete got up on stage and started dancing with them!

Then a policeman asked us if we liked Nong Khai.

There’s a bunch of Issan guys who drink all night and gamble next to the fence outside the house. In the morning, the tuk-tuk drivers watch me do yoga. I feel the constant scrutiny of people.

A big activity of people is to sit on these big gat-type things by the river and drink and cui-cui (have chitchats) and naps.

The air is amazing.

A cat sat in my lap, I ate sticky rice and mango with a friend. There are gecko wars on my wall at night, and in the morning I found a giant frog crawling it’s way up my wall. Its throat went pulse, pulse, as I watched it.

5 Responses to “straight outta nong khai”


  1. 1 Natasha Duchene March 30, 2009 at 4:17 am

    sounds pretty amazing. thinking of you in Cali ❤

  2. 2 julielavoie March 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    hey natasha! nice to hear from you! what are you doing in cali??

  3. 3 justin April 13, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Hey there, hope you are still in NK when I go to back there for work in a month or so. Would be nice to have a barcamp-ing, geek, programmer type around for beers and chat..

  4. 4 julielavoie April 19, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Hey justin, what up? are you friends with the other justin?

    thanks for your comment! yeah, looking forward to meeting you. 🙂

  5. 5 justin April 19, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Yeap! Another geeky Justin. Might meet you soon if all goes to plan!


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


