addendum, loving your own culture

I thought of something to add to my last post. One reason I can see for Thais thinking foreign culture is always cooler than Thai culture is that it’s hard to appreciate your own culture while you’re in it.

I really hated being French-Canadian, until I moved away to Ontario for university, realized English Canadians are boring and uptight, and then I started feeling proud of my own culture and what makes us different from the rest of Canada: like our slutiness, our love of croissants, riding bicycles wearing high heeled shoes and piknik electronic.

So there you have it.

0 Responses to “addendum, loving your own culture”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


