learning to read chinese characters

I felt a random urge today to learn to read Chinese. Why not?, I thought to myself. How hard can it possibly be to learn 30 000 characters?

Also, that way I can embarass all my lame Chinese-Canadian friends who can’t read a Chinese menu when we have dim sum. And let’s face it, nothing is better than making Chinese people feel guilty.

I found this great web site with a list of the 2000 most popular characters.

(Added: I wonder how people think differently when they write a pictogram based language like Chinese?)

1 Response to “learning to read chinese characters”


  1. 1 James March 3, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Yeah, I’ve often wondered the same, but it’d probably take like twenty years to get fluent enough to know how reasoning might differ. Not that that’s a good reason not to learn – I wonder if in a few years thinks might not be like the Matrix though? Where you can just download a language instantly… depends on how long we take to work out how the brain works & learns these things I suppose.

    Anyway, it might improve your maths – http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/13560741/

    I bet that’s why you want to do it, isn’t it? You were always complaining about how your slowness at maths caused low self-esteem… (actually it might have been Rob that told me you were useless at maths, someone like that anyway – well, don’t worry. We can all still keeping learning everyday! maybe this Chinese will just be the starting point in yr journey…)


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


