an example lesson from aua thai program

I’ve talked a lot about the school where I learn Thai. It’s called the Thai program at AUA Rachadamri. It uses a unique method (called ALG method), where you just listen to two teachers telling stories in Thai. You don’t speak Thai, take tests, have made-up conversations or do any homework. You don’t write down anything. It’s pretty much like watching TV, or a play in Thai, except that the teachers tells stories that are understandable at each level.

It’s really effortless, and it works, and it’s the most fun I’ve ever had learning a language. Now when I speak Thai, it really is automatic — I don’t have to think, or translate in my head, I just speak.

I found a little video clip of part of a lesson online, so you can check it out:

2 Responses to “an example lesson from aua thai program”


  1. 1 James March 3, 2009 at 7:40 am

    That does look good. I don’t know if I could do it though, since I’m always suspicious of things that don’t involve writing stuff down (that’s how I learn!)…

    And how do you learn the writing?

  2. 2 jan March 18, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    seems like the natural way babies learn a language. but as there is apparently no involvement of the student, why don’t they just sell the videos?


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


