work

In Asia, somehow I’ve become a lot more cheerful about my own work, even its more bullshitty web 2.0, new economy, crappy software, autistic nerds, negotiating with annoying people aspects. It kind of puts things into perspective to see an old woman patiently making som tam by the side of the road, day after day, month after month, seeming pretty contented with her situation, or to see my friend, who is essentially a slave, do construction every day without any holidays telling me “it’s important to work, no work, no money”

You feel stupid showing up with complaints like “oh, but his code was crap, who is *he* to tell *me* to refactor my code? “I can’t believe they made me use this framework”

Or maybe I should just take up making som tam.

3 Responses to “work”


  1. 1 Anon January 14, 2009 at 3:10 am

    I guess you’d be quite a site, a white foreign girl selling som tam. And if your som tam’s any good – they might even come back. And ofcourse Lonely Planet would send you lots of customers. So I say – go for the career switch!

    • 2 julielavoie January 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm

      hahah, i think i would more likely get arrested by the police, or actually hit up for a big bribe by the police, or beat up by other som tam vendors! šŸ˜›

      i think thai people would never believe that i can make som tam. at my old work, the thais looked suspicious whenever i offered to make them a latte — “this crazy farang will make me drink crazy farang coffee — never sweet enough!” šŸ˜›

  2. 3 Anon January 14, 2009 at 3:11 am

    Oops. Silly me. Must have nodded off there. Too much webstuff on my mind. SIGHT, I meant. Not site. Sorry about that. Back to sleep, now. zzzzzzzz


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Archives


