how to post to twitter using jibjib, for the completely confused

Using cool software called jibjib, (written here in Thailand by our very own Sugree Phatanapherom from Barcamp) I can easily post to twitter and twitpics with my mobile phone, and here is how.

(The first parts of this guide might be obvious for people who are familiar with using the net from their mobile phone, but that was not me. So I want to explain what I did from the very beginning, as I couldn’t find a guide like this when I needed one.)

1) You need an internet-enabled mobile phone, with minimum CLDC 1.0 and MIDP 1.0. My phone is Nokia 3110c.

2) You need to get GPRS-enabled from your mobile phone provider. In my case, I use Truemove in Thailand. Truemove sucks (for foreigners) because its website and call center are almost all in Thai. Good luck doing anything yourself unless your Thai is very good. I spent hours trying to figure out how to get GPRS for my phone, finally I had to just go down to the True Move office at Siam Square, and get them to set it up for me. Those dudes speak English and were actually helpful.

2a) With Truemove first you have to “provision” GPRS. Who knows what that is, I have no idea. All I know is that while I managed to apply for a GPRS package (see below), it still wouldn’t work at first because I hadn’t “provisioned” GPRS by calling an all-Thai number. In the end, Siam Square had to do this for me.

2b) Then you can call some number and apply for a package. Right now with True, unlimited GPRS is 250B/m for pre-paid customers. (Again, Siam Square had to do this for me)

Ok, once you’ve done this, you should be able to access the web with your phone! Now you are ready to install some applications, like jibjib.

3) Installing jibjib: make sure to install it via the phone’s internal browser at jibjib’s mobile page, with my phone, just copying the files manually to the phone’s memory made the application fail part-way through.

4) Configuring jibjib: go to options -> setup and put in your twitter username and password. I use gateway: Birdnest onedd.
To be able to post big pictures to twitpics, under “Picture Options”, add “encoding=image/jpeg&width=640&height=480”. (without the quotes)

(thanks to somsak for finding out the max resolution possible)

5) This suggestion is from somsak:

“One thing that, I think, very useful to set for jibjib is to have AppAccess for jibjib to multimedia card. This can be done by

Menu->Application->Move to jibjib icon->Left button to bring up context menu->App Access->Data Access->Multimedia rec.->Ask first time only.

With this, you don’t have to answer “Yes” to every photo.

6) You are ready to go. To tweet, go to Options->Tweet. If you want to tweet a picture, (when already inside Tweet), go to Options->Picture — and you can take picture to post directly to twitpics.

Thanks a lot to Sugree who helped me to get jibjib working on my phone!

1 Response to “how to post to twitter using jibjib, for the completely confused”


  1. 1 somsak December 30, 2008 at 10:38 am

    One thing that, I think, very useful to set for jibjib is to have AppAccess for jibjib to multimedia card. This can be done by

    Menu->Application->Move to jibjib icon->Left button to bring up context menu->App Access->Data Access->Multimedia rec.->Ask first time only.

    With this, you don’t have to answer “Yes” to every photo.

    Also, for width and height, I tried many resolution and it seems that width=640&height=480 is the maximum size this phone can hold.

    My 0.02$


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


