word on the soi: water level ok in laos

I’m off to Laos tomorrow for a little vacation. I’m looking forward to seeing for myself what is going on with the flooding in Vientiane. I hope I can post some pictures and reports here.

I talked to the woman at Samsen train station about taking the train to Nong Khai, and she said that the trains were running and the water levels were ok. One thing that is great about learning Thai is that you can make jokes and Thai people always laugh. “Are you sure? I don’t want to swim to Nong Khai!”, I said, and the clerk laughed.

Then I phoned Mutmee Guesthouse in NK and they said that their main building was now without water, they were cleaning everything up and should be back in order by this weekend.

And then my favorite hotel in Vientiane told me that everything was a-ok there too.

Now, if you’ve been around SEA for a while, you know this could mean anything from everything is fine to everything is completely under water.

The final word belongs to my friend Simon:

“I can’t believe eating good croissants is more important to you than going to a flooded disaster zone. Your priorities are f*”

0 Responses to “word on the soi: water level ok in laos”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


