go the hospital, young woman

IMG_4788, originally uploaded by elliptic curve.

Bangkok is hard on the lungs. While the air is a lot better than, say, Saigon or China, the pollution here is BAD.

I’ve been plagued by some kind of lung infection that never quite seems to go away since i came back to Bangkok. I did two courses of antibiotics from the corner pharmacy, and today I finally gave up and went to the real doctor.

Canada has free medical care for everyone, so I’ve never dealt with private hospitals and medical insurance before. What a strange experience!

I went to Paolo Memorial Hospital in Bangkok. There was a customer care representative who took me in charge and made me fill out forms. All the nurses wear dainty little nurse uniforms. A nurse served me tea.

The doctor was a very old Thai woman with very good English. I’m always curious when I see very old woman in positions of power. They must have achieved so much before the world had even heard of feminism, I always their force of character.

Then I went to the payment counter (!), and the hospital pharmacist. The best part of this whole thing was how they gave me my drugs in a dainty little shopping bag with the hospitals’ logo, as if I bought a new bra or something:

IMG_4781

So now I have my designer drugs and my hello kitty kleenex. I hope I feel better soon!

2 Responses to “go the hospital, young woman”


  1. 1 Jody January 24, 2008 at 1:52 am

    If you don’t mind sharing, how much did this cost?

  2. 2 julielavoie January 24, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    It was 800 Baht or so, about 24$.


Leave a Reply

About

A blog about culture and technology in South-East Asia.

my Flickr

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

Giving presents to the facilitators!

More Photos

Archives


